Wine Information

About Wines:   Most commercial wines use pork based fining [clarifying] agents in their production and are unclean.  Our dear sister Constance with help from our friends has been doing some research on finding wines suitable for Passover. 

Enquire for local availability; best bets are Vegan and Health stores.  There may be border restrictions on wines; please inquire from the vendor if wine may be sent to Canada or to your country state before purchasing online.

James, here is the info on wines,

I listed several wine companies that sell vegan wines online.  There are a few states that do not allow liqueur to be sold through the mail. People would need to check first with the company to see if they ship to their state.  I was able to order a bottle that is delivered via Fedex, the only requirment is that the one ordering it is over 21 and he or she needs to be available to sign for it when it is delivered.

Here is some information regarding the use of animal products to make wine:

“The majority of people are unaware that wine, although made from grapes, may have been made using animal-derived products. During the winemaking process, the liquid is filtered through substances called “fining agents.” This process is used to remove protein, yeast, cloudiness, “off” flavors and colorings, and other organic particles. Popular animal-derived fining agents used in the production of wine include blood and bone marrow, casein (milk protein), chitin (fiber from crustacean shells), egg albumen (derived from egg whites), fish oil, gelatin (protein from boiling animal parts), and isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes).

Thankfully, there are several common fining agents that are animal-friendly and used to make vegan wine. Carbon, bentonite clay, limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, silica gel, and vegetable plaques are all suitable alternatives. You can check your local organic or health food stores, local organic winemakers, and co-op’s, and most regular wine/liquor stores will order vegan wines upon request.”


Vegan [Vegetarian] Wine

Many wines are processed with animal products, but vegan wines are widely available.

In its pure form, wine is simply grape juice combined with a special variety of yeast and allowed to ferment. Unfortunately, many winemakers speed things up by using a small amount of animal ingredients to capture sediment in the wine. This practice of using foreign ingredients to capture sediments is called fining.

Animal Products Sometimes Used in Winemaking:

Isinglass (from fish bladders)

Gelatin (from boiled cow or pig body parts)

Albumin (egg whites)

Casein (animal milk protein)

Fortunately, many winemakers use either vegan fining ingredients, or they skip the fining practice entirely by giving the wine some time to settle before decanting it into bottles.

Annoyingly, winemakers do not disclose fining ingredients on the label. But luckily, you can use the Internet to look up the status of most of the top brands. Just visit Barnivore, which has researched and cataloged vegan alcohol of all types. If you come across a wine that isn’t listed in Barnivore’s database, you can email the vineyard and ask.

Some popular vegan-friendly wines:

Charles Shaw (red wines only)

Frey Vineyards

Lumos Wine

Red Truck Wines

The Vegan Vine

Yellowtail (red wines only; not white or rosé)

Here are a few wine companies that sell vegan wines with more information on what kinds they sell and how their wines are made:
There are quite a few online that say they are vegan friendly, but this is the only one (Frey’s) that I could find that states that their wine is (1) vegan, (2) not made with sulfates, and (3) made with organic grapes.
In Canada
Here is the  DIRECTORY of wines that specify which are vegan friendly and which are not


DISTRIBUTORS IN THE U.S. & Canada for Vegan Wines ~ Frey Wines

Here are the names and phone numbers of wine Distributors that readers can call to get more information and find out where the closest stores are in their areas that sell these wines.  At the bottom are three located in Canada.

Specialty Imports Inc.  907 563-9100 AK

Johnny Greenseeds Wine   205 706-1186 AL

Glazer’s of Arkansas   501 955-2903 AR

Southern Wine & Spirits   602-533-8790602-533-8790 AZ

Mountain People’s Wine Dist. Toll-free 866 850-9463 CA
Also, check out their Store Locator

Chez Suze   303 499-1025 CO

Organic Vintages   800 877-6655 CT

Constantine Wines Inc.   410 309-9463 DC

Constantine Wines Inc.   410 309-9463 DE

Regal Wine Imports   856 985-6388856 985-6388 DE

Tree of Life    Contact Bruce at 941 928-4118 FL

Quality Wine and Spirits    404 367-9463 GA

Paradise Beverage   808 678-4000 HI

Iowa Wine Wholesale Ltd.  319 358-7050 IA

CSBeverage, Ketchum   208 726-0766 ID

CSBeverage, Boise & eastern Idaho   208 378-0550 ID

Southern Wine & Spirits, Coeur d’Alene & most of Idaho   208-746-0114208-746-0114 ID

Wein-Bauer Distributing    847-678-0685847-678-0685 IL

Marketplace Selections IL    309/ 589-0575309/ 589-0575

Stern Beverage   309 787-2337 IL

National Wine & Spirits   317 636-6092317 636-6092 Ext. 1285 IN

Heidelberg Distributors   859 980-0900859 980-0900 (ask for Jimmy Carpenter), KY

Glazer’s Distributing    318 683-2610 LA

Winebow/Boston Wine Co.    617 666-5939 MA

Constantine Wines Inc.   410 309-9463 MD

Chartrand Imports    207 594-7300 ME

NWS Wine World/Merchants    734 324-3000 MI

Johnson Brothers    651 659-2825 MN

Glazer’s Midwest     816 231-1188 (ask for customer service) MO

NSH Wines – Susan Wingart   662 563-7195 MS

Summit Beverage    406 541-3900406 541-3900 ext. 450 MT

Tryon Distributing Co.    704 334-0849 ext. 8153 NC

Republic Beverage of ND    701 282-0985 ND

Republic National Dist. Company   402 599-8280 NE

Perfecta Wine Company    603 645-1234 NH

Regal Wine Imports   856 985-6388 NJ

Organic Vintages    800 877-6655 NJ

Southern Wine & Spirits of New Mexico   505 246-3130 NM

Southern Wine and Spirits   702 876-4500702 876-4500 Las Vegas NV

Southern Wine & Spirits    775 355-4500 Reno NV

Organic Vintages    800 877-6655 NY

Natural State Wines   614 543-0080 OH

Glazer’s    405 943-3833 OK

Mitchell Wine Group   503 517-0350 OR

Penn. Liquor Control Board   274 800-332-7521 PA

Advintage Wine Distributing   843-225-2005843-225-2005 SC

Horizon Wine & Spirits    615 320-7292 TN

Glazer’s/Prestige Wine Cellars   214 823-9272 TX

Utah Dept. of Alcoholic Beverages   801 977-6800 UT

International Cellars    703 918-6333 VA 

Select Wines, Inc.   703 631-8100 VA

G. Housen – North   802 773-4707 VT

Young’s Columbia    425 251-9300425 251-9300 ext. 26926 WA

Southern Wine & Spirits   877 532-2987 WA

BreakThru Beverage Wisconsin   800-242-7900800-242-7900 FREE (ask for customer service) WI

Wine & Beverages Imports   304 723-1720 Weirton WV

The Bomb Sommelier, Zack Padilla   303 960-8573 WY



Here is one in Vancouver:
Liberty Merchant Company
ph: 604 739-7804
British Columbia, Canada

ph: 905 828-6695905 828-6695
Ontario, Canada


Saskatchewan Liquor L.G.A.
ph: 306-787-6558306-787-6558
Saskatchewan, Canada

This Chilean winery

produces organic wines available in liquor stores in British Columbia and widely in North America.


Here is some more information regarding sulfites in wine. I found this on Frey’s Wines Website

No Sulfites Added

Organic Wine is wine without added sulfites.  Under the USDA National Organic Program, sulfites are a synthetic food additive. They are not allowed in organic wine or any other certified organic food products, such as dried fruits, jams, salad dressings or juices.
In over 30 years of organic wine making, we have never added sulfites or other synthetic additives to our wines. Sulfur is abundant in all life forms and takes many forms in living organisms. Small amounts of naturally occurring sulfites are present in wine and other foods.
Synthetic sulfites added to wine are used as a mild antioxidant preservative and stabilizer. Sulfites are added to wine in the form of sulfur salts, SO2 gas or sulfur dioxide solutions. They are commonly used at several stages in the winemaking process. They can be added at the crusher when the fruit enters the production stream and after primary alcoholic fermentation, final levels are adjusted before bottling.

Due to the reactive nature of free sulfites, most join with other substances in the wine, becoming “bound” sulfites. Once bound, sulfites can’t be tasted or smelled, except at high levels. Any added sulfite that does not react with the wine remains “free”. It is these free, reactive molecules that can be smelled and tasted and react with sinus tissues to cause a sulfite reaction.

Sulfites are measured in parts per million, or ppm. Following is a brief overview of maximum amounts of sulfites allowed in different classes of wines.


Three Common Myths About Sulfites and Wine

Myth:  Organic Wine contains added sulfites.
Fact:  Under the USDA National Organic Program, wines labeled as Organic Wine can have no added sulfites. 

Myth:  Sulfites added to wine are a natural ingredient.
Fact:   Added sulfites are a synthetically produced, industrial ingredient. 

Myth:  Sulfited wines keep better than non-sulfited wines.
Fact:  Organic red and white non-sulfited wines can last as long as sulfited wines if properly made. We recommend storing them at the same temperature as all wines are stored, room temperature or below. We also recommend that our red wines be consumed within 7 years. 






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

TheShiningLight © 2007-2018 All rights reserved